An Act Creating the Municipality of Libertad in the Municipality of Misamis Oriental

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippine Congress Assembled:

Section 1. The barrios of Libertad, Gimaylan, Lubluban, Dulong, Taytayan and Tangcub are hereby separated from the Municipality of Initao, Province of Misamis Oriental, and constituted into a new municipality to be known as the Municipality of Libertad of the same province.

Section 2. The boundaries of the Municipality of Libertad are as follows:

"Beginning at point marked "1" on plan, a common point of the municipalities of Gitagum and Initao, thence following the original Gitagum and Initao boundary; S. 39 00 E, 8,255.00 meters to point "2" thence S 17 00 W, 4,200.00 meters to point "3" thence N 39 00 W, 5,000.00 meters to point "4" thence, northwest approximately 6,600.00 meters following a natural waterway to point "5", thence, northeast approximately 6,200.00 meters following the coastal stretch to point of beginning."

Section 3. The first mayor, vice-mayor and councilors of the municipality shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines with the consent of the Commission on Appointments and shall continue in office until their successors shall have been elected in the next election for local officials and shall have qualified.

Section 4. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved: June 21, 1963.

The Lawphil Project - Arellano Law Foundation