An Act Creating the Municipality of Molave in the Province of Zamboanga and Making Said Municipality the Capital of the Province

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippine Congress Assembled:

Section 1. The territory within the boundaries described in the next succeeding section in the Province of Zamboanga shall be a municipality to be known as the municipality of Molave.

Section 2. The boundaries and limits of the territory of said municipality are established and defined as follows:

On the North by latitude 8 20 00, adjoining the municipalities of Katipunan, Dipolog and Dapitan; on the East by the Misamis Occidental-Zamboanga boundary; on the South by latitude 8 0 00, adjoining the municipalities of Aurora, Pagadian, Margosatubig; on the West by longitude 123 10 00, adjoining the municipalities of Sindangan, Labason and Kabasalan. The area of the municipality of Molave is approximately nine hundred square kilometers.1aшphi1

Section 3. Upon approval of this Act, or as soon thereafter as practicable, the President of the Philippines shall appoint the elective officials of the new municipality who shall hold office until their successors shall have been duly elected in the general elections next following the approval of this Act and have qualified.

Section 4. The said municipality of Molave shall be the capital of the Province of Zamboanga: Provided, However, That until the necessary buildings to be used for housing the different offices of the provincial government of Zamboanga shall have been constructed in the said municipality, the municipality of Dipolog shall continue to be the capital of the province.

Section 5. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved: June 16, 1948.

The Lawphil Project - Arellano Law Foundation