M a n i l a

PRESIDENTIAL DECREE No. 742 July 7, 1975


WHEREAS, it is a policy of the State to strengthen local government units to serve as the foundation for a strong and self-reliant nation;

WHEREAS, this policy is implemented by, among other things, grouping local government units into regions that allow for greater coordination and more efficient administration;

WHEREAS, the experience of the past two-and-one-half years has shown that the regional groupings of the country have to be refined and improved upon;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution, do hereby amend Presidential Decree No. 1 as follows:

1. Region IX shall be composed of the provinces of Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi and Zamboanga del Sur, and the cities of Pagadian and Zamboanga, with Jolo as the Regional Center.

2. Region X shall be composed of the provinces of Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Bukidnon, Camiguin, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Surigao del Norte and Zamboanga del Norte, and the cities of Cagayan de Oro, Dapitan, Dipolog, Gingoog, Oroquieta, Ozamis, Tangub, Surigao and Butuan, with Cagayan de Oro as the Regional Center.

3. Region XI shall be composed of the provinces of Surigao del Sur, Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, Davao del Sur and South Cotabato, and the cities of Davao and General Santos, with Davao City as the Regional Center.

4. Region XII shall be composed of the provinces of Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, North Cotabato and Sultan Kudarat, and the cities of Cotabato, Iligan and Marawi, with Cotabato City as the Regional Center.

Furthermore, Regional Commissioners shall be appointed for Region IX and XII with powers and functions to be subsequently defined.

This decree shall take effect immediately.

DONE in the City of Manila, this 7th day of July, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and seventy-five.

The Lawphil Project - Arellano Law Foundation