M a n i l a



WHEREAS, the basic objective of the government is to provide every opportunity and facility to hasten the pace of socio-economic development of the country, especially in areas comprising Muslim Mindanao;

WHEREAS, the necessity is felt, in order to maximize the efficacy of law and order and to expedite optimum development in the areas involved, to create this municipality to insure the effective implementation of the declared programs of the government;

WHEREAS, in the execution of the said government programs, close supervision by local officials is a necessity so as to at least approximate a certain degree of achievement which will contribute to a large extend toward the political, social and economic upliftment of the residents;

WHEREAS, the new municipality will become a self-reliant community once intensified government projects are made in line with the declared policy of the government to uplift the socio-economic well being of the residents therein;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers in me vested by the Constitution, do hereby order and decree, as part of the law of the land, the following:

Section 1. Barangays Becayawan I, Becayawan II, Bago-ingud, Balaigay, Cadingilan, Casalayan, Dalauan Occidental, Dalauan Oriental, Lamin, Lower Diromoyod, Lumbac, Lumbayanague (Kabasaran), Miniros, Managun, Pimbago, Pitatanglan, Poctan, Raya, Singcara, Upper Diromoyod, Wago, West Balaygay, Punung, Ayong, Pendolonan, Kabuntongan, Dilimbayan, Sultan Village, Saloloy and Binog in the Municipality of Lumbatan and barangays Bualan, Mapantao-Balangas, Pagalongan and Pantaon in the municipality of Butig are hereby separated from their respective municipalities and constituted into a distinct and independent municipality to be known as the Municipality of Lumbayanague in the province of Lanao del Sur.

Section 2. The seat of government of the newly created municipality shall be in Barangay Lumbayanague.

Section 3. Except as hereinafter provided, all provisions of law, now or hereafter applicable to regular municipalities shall be applicable to the new municipality of Lumbayanague.

Section 4. The present elective officials of the municipality of Lumbatan shall perform their duties as such in the newly created municipality until the officials of the latter shall have been duly appointed by the President and they shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected in the election for provincial and municipal officials following the issuance of this Decree, and shall have qualified unless sooner removed at the pleasure of the President. Such appointive officers and employees as may be necessary to organize or to complete the government personnel of the municipality of Lumbayanague shall be appointed as provided for under existing laws.

Section 5. Upon the effectivity of this Decree, the proportionate share of the new municipality of Lumbayanague in the obligations, funds, assets and other property of the municipalities of Lumbatan and Butig shall be transferred by the President to the newly created municipality upon the recommendation of the Commission on Audit.

Section 6. All laws or parts of laws as well as all executive orders or regulations inconsistent herewith are hereby repealed or modified accordingly.

Section 7. This Decree shall take effect immediately.

DONE in the City of Manila, this 14th day of February, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and seventy-seven.

The Lawphil Project - Arellano Law Foundation
The Lawphil Project - Arellano Law Foundation